From the Mouth of the Shark: Confessions of A Retired Wrestling Fan‏

From The Mouth of The Shark BannerFrom The Mouth of the Shark

With Sean Williams

It’s been a long time since I’ve written something or done a podcast or anything regarding wrestling. So before I dive right in here, let me get the ball rolling. I’m Sean Williams aka The Shark and much like Jim Cornette said when he did his shoot promos on WWE titled “My Opinion,” the views I’m about to express are my own. It’s been over two months since I stopped doing my podcast and the longer it goes without me doing it, the less I miss it and it’s to the point where I’ve grown accustomed to the word “retired,” but the more I thought of that word, it’s not the podcast that I feel myself retired from, but retired as a wrestling fan. Yeah, yeah, I know that those that know me will go and say “heard it before” and maybe they have. But the fact remains is since Wrestlemania, I feel I’ve reached a pinnacle with pro wrestling itself and this all began at the Royal Rumble. 

Back in the Royal Rumble earlier this year, people were aching to see Daniel Bryan in the Royal Rumble match and to have him win it. Not only did he not win it, but he wasn’t even in the Rumble itself.  The WWE decides to go ahead and move forward with Batista and having him win the Rumble and be in the main event. We all know how it panned out in the end, namely with Daniel Bryan standing tall at Wrestlemania, but looking back at the road to that moment, I can look at it all and say “too late, damage done.”  What damage you may say? I don’t like having my emotions toyed with and in this case, WWE doing something to intentionally piss off the fans and get a reaction.  Problem with doing that is that they got more than they bargained for. CM Punk quit the night after the Rumble and hasn’t looked back since and the CM Punk chants, regardless of how annoying they’ve become, just won’t stop. Was this the reaction you wanted WWE and was it worth it?

One thing that I’ve had to witness for too long, I’ve had to witness a specific kind of wrestling fans. I’m talking about the kind that can’t separate reality from fiction, the kind that will get pissed off and chew your ass out all because you don’t agree with them on a wrestler they like or hate, and most of all, the kind of fans that will get pissed off when you don’t agree with them when they think there is absolutely nothing wrong with wrestling programming like for example Monday Night Raw. These are the same guys that chant random things like the CM Punk chants no matter who is out there in the ring and that wish disease, physical and/or death towards a wrestler like John Cena. The worst part about these kind of fans is that they give those fans who are of sound mind a bad reputation because wrestling promotions and wrestlers themselves will just go and look at those kind of fans and think they represent the rest of us.

Another reason I’ve considered my retirement from being a wrestling fan is the fact that as of late, I can’t help but notice the line between promotions becoming severely blurred. TNA is trying to copy WWE and sometimes it’s the other way around.   You have Dixie Carter trying to be Stephanie McMahon, TNA trying to pass off Eric Young like he’s Daniel Bryan, and you have MVP trying to be Triple H. Funny thing with Stephanie McMahon is how she’s trying so hard to act like her father Vince McMahon, but the truth is her promos are coming off like a broken record where we’re hearing the same thing over and over again and her attempts at impersonating Vince saying “You’re Fired” is so painful that she’s ended up becoming WWE’s equivalent of Dixie Carter. You also have MVP as I said trying to be Triple H even though he’s not and Kenny King trying to be Randy Orton which he’s not and lastly, you have Bobby Lashley trying to be Batista even though he’s not which is actually more of a compliment for Lashley than anything.

The word “Evolve” has been one word that has been used for what wrestling as a whole needs to do and yet hasn’t. I used to think the Attitude Era was a preview of the WWE evolving to the next level, but as of late, I’m starting to see it as that was the peak for the WWE and that it was not gonna get any higher than that.  With nobody to challenge them, WWE doesn’t have the desire to change a thing. You have Triple H and Stephanie with some control but not total control because while he’s reportedly been trying to distance himself from having his name linked to wrestling, he’ll give up total control when they pry it from his cold lifeless fingers or when WWE’s investors decide they’ll jump ship if things don’t change, whichever comes first.

Other promotions aren’t much better either. Most indy promotions are too focused with staying afloat than evolving to something more. TNA can’t evolve right now because with their storylines, bouncing paychecks and struggle to find a permanent place for tapings, they’re too focused on plugging the holes in the hull of their sinking ship than they are with evolving their product. Extreme Rising was at least smart enough to pull the plug and the one thing helping keep Ring of Honor stable is partnering with the New Japan promotion, but it still doesn’t take away from flaws that ROH still has. Jeff Jarrett is trying to get Global Force Wrestling up and running and taking his time with it, so it seems as though he’s doing all the right things. Need an example of one of the things he’s doing right? The Carter family is nowhere near it.

The biggest reason for me in why I’m retired from being a wrestling fan is because I feel that there is nothing new that wrestling can give me. The Daniel Bryan moment at Wrestlemania, I feel as though I got the moment and that was as good as it’s gonna get, top that off with seeing the Streak of the Undertaker coming to an end, so that makes to history making moments that I’ve witnessed. I looked at what I was doing with my podcast and realized that I didn’t want to become one of those who bitch and moan all the time to the point where it’s sport to them, and I feared that was the direction I was heading and that the only difference between that and what I’m saying now is that I’ve come to begrudgingly accept that wrestling will never get better than this. WWE has become boring, stale, predictable and boring. ROH is stable but not without its faults and TNA is a downright embarrassment that makes the dying days of WCW look like the WWE Attitude Era and it’s all thanks to the mismanagement and bad decisions of Daddy’s Spoiled Rich Brat.

I barely even watch wrestling anymore and I find my life less stressful for not watching it. So that’s what leaves the bigger exclamation point on why I don’t do my podcast anymore is how can I talk about wrestling if I don’t even watch it. The most I can do is reminisce about when wrestling was good, even if I end up looking like a hypocrite for chewing into wrestling and giving it the kick in the ass that it deserves. They say that if you don’t like it, don’t watch it and that’s exactly what I’m doing is not watching or another way I look at it is that I’m mad and frustrated as all hell and I’m not going to take it anymore. Somebody in WWE was mad and frustrated as hell and decided he wasn’t going to take it anymore and last anyone saw of him, he was watching the Chicago Blackhawks in the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

 

I’m Sean Williams and THAT is From The Mouth of the Shark.

 

This entry was posted in From The Mouth of The Shark, Sean Williams and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

