PIPE BOMB!: TNA’s Future; Not Very Bright!

Pipe Bomb TNA's Future Banner

PIPE BOMB!: TNA’s Future; Not Very Bright!

With Billy James

With everything recently going on with TNA, I felt that I needed to drop a PIPE BOMB! concerning the recent releases and the future of TNA. The signs are not good for TNA as four more releases were announced this week including a major TNA executive. TNA talents Tara and Doc were released this week along with D-Lo Brown and Bruce Prichard. No you didn’t hear wrong, Bruce Prichard is gone from TNA. I’ll get back to Prichard in just few minutes but I want to talk about the release of Tara as Tara has also be one of my favorite Women Wrestler and one of the best in ring performers that TNA had.

Tara AKA Victoria as she was known in the WWE, debut in TNA in May 2009 and would win first of five TNA Knockouts title reigns when Tara defeated Angelina Love at Victory Road at year. Tara would have some great match in TNA including a First Blood match against Daffney in 2010 and a Steel Cage match against Mickie James in December of that year. I feel that letting Tara go was a big mistake on TNA’s part as now these is only six women currently on the Knockouts roster that actually wrestle. I truly hope that something can turn around for the Knockouts division and soon.

Doc is an interesting situation as TNA was going to have Doc was going to turn “Face” and feud with Mr. Anderson. I don’t what happen but I feel like Doc again didn’t get to show fans what he can do in the ring. The same thing happen in WWE so I think that it’s one of those cases of creative not knowing what to do with a wrestler. I hope that Doc will come back to TNA or go back to the WWE were I think he could have a great run as an upper mid-carder. In a recent interview, Doc clarified that he and TNA management couldn’t come to an agreement on a new contract. Doc went on to say that he has no hard feeling with TNA and be willing to come back to TNA in the future.

In D-Lo Brown’s case, I’m not sure what happen as he was asked to restriction his contract and the only one to agree to a “Producer by Night” pay. Shortly after agreeing to this, Brown was release. Was D-Lo Brown is problem behind TNA’s problems, Hell no. I met D-Lo at a house show in 2012 and he was very nice and more then willing to sign his autographic and pose for picture with me. I’m sure there’s more to this story but I doubt we’ll ever what it is.

Ok not it’s time to talk about Bruce Prichard. Most fans including myself have been very vocal about Prichard and being one the architects of the downward spin of the TNA  product. My big beef with Prichard has been his dislike of Women’s Wrestling and it has shown that until recently, the quality of the Knockouts product went down. I never understood why Prichard would be against Women’s Wrestling especially when the Knockouts are one of the highest rated segments of Impact Wrestling. On top of that the over all product of TNA has suffered since Prichard took over creative. Now in Prichard’s defense, Hulk Hogan and Eric Bischoff are also part of the problem and need to go too. Still wrestling fans are celebrating the release of Bruce Prichard from his position of power in TNA.

Just when I thought things couldn’t get any worst, last weekend at a house show in Cape Girardeau, Missouri, half of the talent for the show could not wrestle. The show only lasted 90 minutes with “The Cowboy” James Storm, Gunner, Devon and Bully Ray wrestling twice. The only Bound for Glory Series match on the card was Samoa Joe vs. Bobby Roode and the main event of Jeff Hardy vs. Kurt Angle. The talent who couldn’t wrestle were Chris Sabin, Garett Bischoff, Jay Bradley, Wes Brisco, Gail Kim and Brooke Tessmacher. The reason why they couldn’t wrestle at the show was because the Missouri Athletic Commission wouldn’t allow them to wrestle because they did not have licenses to wrestle.

TNA officials tried to make up for the disaster by inviting all fans backstage after the show to meet wrestlers for free. However, Jeff Hardy charged $20 for a photo and fans could not get his autograph which has gotten lot of negative reactions from fans as in this situation, Hardy should have been doing photos and autographs for free. This led to some of the people that paid $65 for VIP tickets to be upset that fans were getting the VIP experience for free that other fans had paid for. In this case, TNA officials should have refunded those who paid for the VIP pass their money if they were letting everyone come backstage. I don’t know if they did but I think that they better of had.

Now out of the names of those who couldn’t wrestle at the show, there were only three that I would have pissed about not being on the card. They are Gail Kin, Brooke Tessmacher and Chris Sabin. Anybody who has read my articles or knows me knows that I’m a huge Women’s Wrestling fan so I would have been extremely disappointed that there was no Knockouts match on the card. Chris Sabin is a no brainer as Sabin just became the new TNA World Heavyweight Champion and fans were dying to see the new TNA Champion. Far as Jay Bradley, Garett Bischoff and Wes Brisco is concern, no lost with them not being on the card.

Now let’s add more fuel to the fire as this past week, it was announced that Jesse Sorensen was released from his position as a production assistant. This was said to be done because he was being paid more that anyone else working as a production assistant were making. This has caused a major up roar with wrestling fans as back in February at Against All Odds, Sorensen suffered a legitimate injury and was unable to continue the match against Xema Ion. It was later reported on several web sites that Sorensen had suffered a C-1 vertebrae fracture with spinal cord edema. Later after recovering from his injuries, Sorensen was given a job because the scenes as a marketing/production assistant.

Now with Sorensen’s release, fans are flooding Dixie Carter over what fans are calling a heartless move by TNA. This was fueled even more when Jesse Sorensen who opened an account on GoFundMe.com;

“My name is Jessy Sorensen(Jesse Sorensen) I am a former professional wrestler for TNA Impact Wrestling seen every thursday night on SpikeTV. On Feb.12th 2012 during a live match on pay per view vs Zema Ion I suffered a sever neck injury sustaining a broke C-1 vertebrae & herniated C-5 & C-6. After a long recovery process & being promised by the President of TNA Impact Wrestling TNA Dixie Carter I would always have a job with her company, I recently was released from my current contract & shown that those promises were false. During my time away from the ring I decided to pursue bodybuilding & have been prepping for the Hurricane Bay bodybuilding show in Tampa, FL on Oct.5th,2013 but now due to my recent released I will have to drop out of my show. A friend of mine told me about this site and if anyone would like to help and contribute I would be so grateful and appreciate any donations. Thanks and hopefully I can find something I love just as much as I did Wrestling.”

This statement from Sorensen does not help TNA’s public image as it paints Dixie Carter as cold heartless liar. Now it is possible that Carter was told be higher up officials in Panda Energy International who owns TNA to cut Sorensen as Carter has bosses that she must answer to. With that being said, I’m more inclined to believe Sorensen’s story about being promised a lifetime job with TNA. It seems that Sorensen has decided to retire from wrestling so from a wrestling standpoint it makes to release him but if a promise was made to provide lifetime employment for Sorensen then TNA needed to keep that promise.

Can TNA rebound and the show improve? That’s a question we’ll have to wait and see. Last week’s Destination X where we saw Chris Sabin become the new TNA Champion was a right move but it enough to put TNA on the road to recovery?  Being a fan of TNA I hope that they can but I have to be a realist and the writing is on the wall that TNA is a sinking ship with very little hope survival. While I’m going to a TNA house show tomorrow in Pensacola, Florida which could be my last TNA house show as TNA may not even be in business nest year. Still I will be a fan and supporter of TNA until the very end.

Pipe Bomb!

Riley Ross who does a super job covering both WWE and Smackdown in her weekly Riley’s Corner plus covering Ring of Honor in ring of Riley is covering Impact Wrestling in this week’s “Making An Impact” review. I’ll be back to Monday\Tuesday with a review from tomorrow’s TNA house show from Pensacola, Florida. Plus I will have tons of pictures from the show posted on my Facebook hopefully Sunday or Monday.

This entry was posted in Billy James, PIPE BOMB! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

