Andrew B’s DVD Talk: Wrestlemania 29

Andrew B's DVD Talk_new

Andrew B’s DVD Talk

With Andrew B.

Welcome everyone as I am back. For those of you who don’t know me I are Andrew B and I having covered Impact and SmackDown in the past as well as done DVD talks. I also cover past PPVS called Wrestling Rewinds and for those of you who don’t know I stopped writing in February to leave for boot camp but sadly I got hurt and received a medical separation and thankfully my friend John Mayer welcomed me back as the new reviewer for main event. I realized I missed a ton of wrestling so I just watched WrestleMania and Extreme Rules to catch up. Here is my review of the WrestleMania 29 DVD. It won’t be in depth as my Wrestling Rewinds or my Main Event Reviews but it’s my first work in almost 3 months so I hope you enjoy it.

The opening package about Hurricane Sandy’s effect on NY & NJ was a great video package narrated by NJ Governor Chris Christie. I know by living in NY that is hurt people big time and it is great to see how we as a state are coming back and the video package was awesome.

The arena was set up awesome with the statue of liberty and sky scrapers. I had a friend at the event who said the sky scraper blocked his view similar to the palm trees at WrestleMania 28.

The second video package was good also as it helped me catch up on everything I missed.

The 6 man tag was a good opener that had nice spots like Big Show spearing The Shield when they went for the triple powerbomb. At one point it looked like Seth Rollins over shot Orton on a suicide dive. I was not shocked the Shield won but it was obvious that Big Show would not turn face in this match. The attack from Show on Orton & Sheamus after the match was not shocking either. The only shocking thing was that Randy Orton opened a WrestleMania.

The video package for the WWE Title Match was very good. It had a feeling of emotion that almost mad you feel bad that Cena lost in Miami at WrestleMania 28.

Ryback vs. Mark Henry was not bad to me. It was not a classic but I didn’t hate it as much as everyone else. I thought it was cool when Ryback lifted Henry for shell shock but the end was weird as Henry got out of shell shocked and then just splashed Ryback for the win. I would have had Henry hit the World’s Strongest Slam. I was shocked Ryback lost but after the match the spinebuster and Shell shock on Mark Henry were impressive.

The video package for the Special Olympics was nice and has them on stage with Chris Christie & Stephanie McMahon was a cool site to see. Stephanie is still hot.

The Tag Team Title Match was ok but you could tell that Dolph Ziggler was the star of his team. AJ looked sexy as usual and I thought it was humorous how Dolph kissed AJ on the apron in front of Bryan similar to the World Title Match at WrestleMania 28. The Tag Title Match felt short but in the end there was nothing memorable to it.

The video package about John Cena asking everyone to text for the Make a Wish Foundation was nice and felt heartwarming.

The pop for Jericho’s entrance was very good. The match between Fandango and Jericho was good and had some nice spots and counters. The end was nice as it showed that Fandango didn’t defeat Jericho in a cohesive way. Also Jericho having blood on his face was a surprise but this match was better than I thought it was going to be.

The video package for The Rock was bad. It was bad because it was mostly just fans saying his catchphrases not anything about him or what he has done in WWE.

The Diddy Concert felt unnecessary but I didn’t hate it. I like the songs he sang and how he performed I just felt it was not needed and that time could have been have been used for something else.

The video package for Alberto Del Rio vs. Jack Swagger was good but the match not so much as even the crowd was bored. It had good parts and they tried but it didn’t have a big time feeling to it. It was not horrible though.

The video package for Punk vs. Undertaker was good & both men had great entrances as UT had hands from around him on stage & CM Punk had Living Color perform his theme to the ring. I’m about to take some heat but I didn’t think the match was as great as everyone says and it was not the match of the night. There were good spots like the elbow drop on the announcer’s table or all the finishers that were being countered. Also Undertaker was mover slow at time and I don’t think this match was as good as his matches against HHH, HBK and Edge.

The video package for John Cena was very good and I like how it focused on how the loss at WrestleMania 28 affected him but also made him train harder.

The match between HHH and Brock Lesnar was the match of the night for me. I liked it better than their Summerslam bout. HHH had an awesome entrance and including the cage match I considered this one the best in the trio.

The HOF class was very good this year. I would have left Booker T out though and put in someone like Jake Roberts or Scott Hall or Kevin Nash.

Rock vs. Cena II started off slow with a few slow spots and breaks but once it hit the next level it was there. The match was good and wrestling wise it was better than the 1st match but the 1st match had suspense of who will win this match. I liked the show of respect at the end. Overall the WWE Title match was the 2nd best match of the night.

Well I hope you enjoyed this read and I look forward to covering Main Event & doing my Wrestling Rewinds. Thank You for the welcome back Mayer Nation, I missed you all.

This entry was posted in Andrew B., DVD Talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

