Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 05-16-13

Billy's Impact Wrestling Banner_update3

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. Tonight’s Impact Wrestling is the TV taping from Tupelo, Mississippi where it’s the contract signing between Sting and Bully Ray and Sting for the TNA World Heavyweight title match at Slammiversary. What will Bully Ray and “Aces & Eights” have in store for Sting? Last week we saw the return of the Monster; Abyss who left “Aces & Eights” flat on their backs in ring. What will Abyss to say about his return to Impact Wrestling after a year’s absence? After “The Cowboy” James Storm hit the Last Call on both Daniels and Aries leaving no Number #1 Contender for the TNA Tag Team titles, who will get the title shot against Chavo Guerrero and Hernandez? In the past few weeks, Gail Kim has brutally attack Knockouts after her matches. Who will be Gail’s next victim? Also tonight, Kenny King defends his TNA X Division title against Petey Williams and Chris Sabin in a triple threat match. Will King be able once again to retain the X Division title? So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

Matches

Bobby Roode defeats Chavo Guerrero by disqualification

Jay Bradley pins Christian York in Bound for Glory Series Qualifier match

Velvet Sky pins Gail Kim in a Non-Title match

Kenny King defends Petey Williams & Chris Sabin in a Triple Threat match to retain the TNA X Division title

Hernandez pins Christopher Daniels

Joseph Park pins D-Lo Brown

 

No Impact

IMG_2358

Oh No Not Again!

Are you kidding me TNA? You brought back Abyss which fans have been begging for and you Joseph Park back. What do you not get that fans hate the Joseph Park character? I could have live with Hulk Hogan in the opening segment despite annoying he is because I wanted to hear what Abyss had to say. But no, we get Joseph Park coming out and then getting in the face of Devon. So now it looks like TNA is going with a feud between Joseph Park and Devon. As the great Huey Lewis and the News (the great 80’s band ever) once said, “Sometimes Bad Is Bad” and this shit of a segment was bad.

IMG_1984

What, I Lost? I Think I’m To Throw Up

I really like to know what that TNA is thinking because to me I would had Christian York win the Bound for Glory Series Qualifier match because out of all the winners of Gut Check, York is the best. Don’t get wrong because the match was good and men performed very well but I just think that the wrong man won the match.

IMG_2703

Seriously, Are You Shitting Me?!?!

Just when you thought things couldn’t get any worst, they do because Joseph Park wrestled D-lo Brown in the main event which should have been the X Division triple threat match. Don’t get me wrong because D-Lo looked good in this match and hit some damn good moves but the stupid Joseph Park took away from D-Lo’s in ring performance. Now due to beating D-Lo, Joseph Park now gets a TNA TV title against Devon at Slammiversary. I swear this damn Joseph Park storyline then the “Dream” season of Dallas.

IMG_2928

My Stipulation Demand Means You’re Going To Be The New TNA Champion

We had the waste of time of a contract between Sting and Bully Ray which was so predictable that I knew what was going to happen five minutes before it actually happen. So now we have the stipulation that if Sting loose to Bully Ray at Slammiversary then Sting can never wrestle again for the TNA World Heavyweight title. I promise you that Sting is going to leave Slammiversary as the new TNA Champion for a sixth time became of this stipulation. Hey if Sting can wrestle good match all the time then I wouldn’t have a problem with it but Sting can’t this stage in his career. I guess giving Sting another TNA title run is TNA’s retirement gift to Sting. I really hope that Sting retires because he needs to.

High Impact

IMG_1902

It’s Better To Play With The Group Then To Play With Yourself

I thought storyline wise, the Roode vs. Guerrero and Christopher Daniels vs. Hernandez were good matches because it advance the storyline coming off last week where we were left with no Number #1 Contenders for the TNA Tag Team titles. I thought that the action was good in both matches despite outside inference and the disqualification ending to the Roode vs. Guerrero match. Hernandez was on fire as he hit that amazing Air Mexico on Daniels which is amazing because of Hernandez’s size. I think the big think that came out of both matches was the fact that it will be a Fatal Four Way for TNA Tag Team titles as Guerrero and Hernandez defend against Bad Influence (Daniels and Kazarian), Dirty Heels (Roode and Aries) and “The Cowboy” James Storm with a mystery partner which I think we might see reformation of a certain tag team

IMG_2114

Don’t Make Me Angry! You Wouldn’t Like Me When I’m Angry!

We saw the start last week of the feud between Kurt Angle and AJ Styles and things heated even more this week as Angle called out Styles wanting to fight him tonight. Mr. Anderson of “Aces & Eights” came to egg on Angle saying that next week; Styles will join “Aces & Eights” To me what really added the segment was when Styles came into the ring, stare down Angle and then hit Angle with an Enzuigiri out of nowhere. Now we have Angle vs. Styles at Slammiversary.

IMG_2206

The Pigeon’s Wing Is Broken!

I liked the Gail Kim vs. Velvet Sky match as Gail once again very aggressive and arrogant through out the match as Gail took out Velvet’s left leg. I was impressed with Gail’s aggressive submission moves Gail used working on Velvet’s leg with ODB trying to keep Gail off of Velvet in the ring corners. I think that the rollups wins that Velvet has scored in the past few weeks work because it plays on Velvet’s legitimate knee injury. Now next week, Velvet is going to defend the TNA Knockouts title against Mickie James in Tampa, FL which should a good match.

IMG_2453

I’m Still The King of This Division Bitches!!!

The Triple Threat X Division title match was terrific with all men giving a great performance during the match. One during the match, Sabin hit a suplex bridge pin attempt on King while Williams hit a nice suicide dive on Sabin. The action was back and back with the action being fast pace. I really that TNA was going to put the X Division title on Sabin but TNA surprised me by keeping the X Division title on King. I like it when King hit the Royal Flush on Williams to retain the X Division once more. To me this was the best match of the night and I can’t wait to see Kenny King to defend the X Division title against Chris Sabin and Suicide in an Ultimate X Division match at

Show Rating: 5     

 

Final Thought

What the Fuck! TNA? Last week was a damn good show and you then tape this show that was rushed and half assed put together. Half of the matches were good along with the Angle/Styles segment but everything else sucked. Having Joseph Park vs. D-Lo Brown as the main event was complete Bullshit! Whoever thought that Joseph Park vs. D-Lo Brown as the main event was a good idea should send me his resume so I can use it to line my cat’s litter box. I like the fact that Mickie James is going to face Velvet for the TNA Knockouts title which I can’t for. I hope that next week’s show will be much better as Impact Wrestling will be live from Tampa, FL.

IMG_2449

Star of the Night: Kenny King

 

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate.

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

