Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 01-24-13

Billy's Impact Wrestling Banner_update3

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. After Taz revealed last week during Brooke Hogan and Bully Ray’s wedding that he’s a member of “Aces & Eights,” what will Taz have to say about his actions? After the vicious attack by “Aces & Eights,” will Bully Ray seek revenge on “Aces & Eights”? Tonight Christopher Daniels challenges Jeff Hardy for the TNA World Heavyweight title. Will Daniels finally win the big title or will Hardy be able to retain the title? Also Velvet Sky gets her title shot against Tara for the TNA Knockouts title tonight. Will Velvet be able to overcome Tara and her boyfriend; Jessie to become the new TNA Knockouts Champion? So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

 

Matches

Tara pins Velvet Sky to retain the TNA Knockouts title

Kenny King & Xema Ion defeat Christian York &Rob Van Dam

Bobby Roode pins Hernandez

Jeff Hardy pins Christopher Daniels to retain the TNA World Heavyweight title

 

No Impact

I can’t believe that there are people out there that actually love “Joseph Park” character. I actually fell asleep during this segment but got the core of the segment that “Park” is going to challenge someone on the roster next week during Open Fight Night. So all you loyal readers of the Mayer Nation, let me know whether you love or hate “Joseph Park” Thank God that Taz at least said exactly what I was thinking.

Ok, while I loved the Knockouts title match, the one thing that I’m tired of id Jesse, Tara boyfriend interfering in Tara’s matches. I mean every title match, Jesse is interfering and helping Tara to retain the title. What is even more surprising is the fact that Taryn Terrell; the Knockouts referee never sends Jesse’s ass to the back. Hopefully Terrell will send Jesse to the back making it a fair title match.

Is it just me or is everyone getting tired of the stupid backstage segments. It’s waste of time for the so call backstage interview going up to TNA Superstars as they are arriving to the Impact Zone only for the said Superstar not say anything but that they are to the ring to say what’s on their mind. I know these are short segments but when you have five or six two minutes of these backstage segments, its time that could have went to having another match.

Ok, so TNA has written Jeff Hardy off of TV when the old injury angle which is fine expect that the way the angle was executed. Having a member of “Aces & Eights” hit Hardy with a bell hammer while Taz distracts Hardy was good but Hardy should have beaten down with a few more strikes. For those wondering why TNA did this angle is because Hardy can’t go to England due to his legal issues from 2011.

High Impact

I liked the Taz promo at the beginning of Impact Wrestling as he explained his action from last week’s Impact Wrestling. Taz did a great job getting the fact over that there’s someone else who is behind “Aces & Eights” agenda which I think gives a practical reason for all their attacks and what they are trying to do. I said last week that I thought that Taz would be perfect as the mouthpiece for “Aces & Eights” and it worked. I also liked that Taz explained why he’s going to be wrestling which while a tad lame, works.

I thought that the Velvet Sky vs. Tara was good as it told a good story and both ladies got in some great offense during the match. Tara hit her signature standing moonsault which if you’re a guy then you know why it’s a great move. I thought that Velvet and Tara had good chemistry in the ring as Velvet was on the offense early with quick roll up at the start of the match. I have to say that I was impress with the inverted In Yo’ Face that Velvet hit on Tara. While I didn’t like the finish to this match, I wouldn’t mind seeing another match between Velvet and Tara.

I was impressed with Kenny King, Xema Ion and Christian York during this match. I mean that this match had some fast pace action with some great moves including a nice Russian leg sweep neck breaker Christian York hit on King. I was amazed at the bump that Ion took when RVD monkey flip Ion out of the ring corner. That blockbuster that King hit on York coming off the ropes was great. It will be interesting to see who will finally beat RVD for the X Division title.

The Bully Ray segment was good as Bully Ray did all the talking while Brooke Hogan just stood there and kept her mouth shut. Bully Ray made his points quick and without lot of bullshitting. Bully Ray was able express his raw emotions which was the selling point to the segment. Now it will be interesting to see if Hulk Hogan will reinstate Bully Ray so that Bully Ray can go after Taz and “Aces & Eights.”

The Bobby Roode vs. Hernandez was interesting as Roode did a good job making Hernandez look good. I was saying “Holy Shit!” when I saw Hernandez hit a wicked shoulder block. I like how Austin Aries came to Roode’s aid pulling Roode out of the way of Hernandez’s attempt at a diving splash. I’m sure we’ll see Roode and Aries get a title shot for the TNA Tag Team titles against Hernandez and Chavo Guerrero in the near future which I say we’ll see new TNA Tag Team Champions.

It was very smart on TNA’s part to have Kurt Angle to come out and challenge Mr. Anderson next week during Open Fight Night to a steel cage match. With Jeff Hardy not being able to go on the UK tour it was a great way to get fans interest in the tapings during the UK tour. From what I’ve read on the web, UK fans are upset that Hardy isn’t on the tour but speaking for myself, I think that Angle vs. Anderson is going to be a damn good match.

The best match of the night by far was Christopher Daniels vs. Jeff Hardy. Daniels was beyond great in this match and a few points during the match I thought that Daniels might actually win the TNA title. Daniels really worked over Hardy during this match and I love it when Daniels hit the Angel’s Wings on Hardy which was which was a damn good near fall. I think that the crowd was really into this match and got behind Hardy as Hardy was regaining control of the match. This match shows that Hardy is a fighting Champion as Hardy hit two Twist of Fates and the Swanton Bomb for the win.

Show Rating: 7

 

Final Thoughts

Not a bad Impact Wrestling considering that this week’s show was taped last week due to the UK tour. We got four good matches with two of them being title matches and most of the promo segments were not bad. I liked that we got some answers from Taz about his actions last week and gave “Aces & Eights” a purpose which “Aces & Eights” needed. I can’t wait to see what’s going to happen in the next four weeks as all for four shows are being taped in the UK. I don’t know if they are all going to be taped in one night or as four different shows. If it were me, I would tape at four different shows to have a better crowd reaction. Not only do we get Kurt Angle vs. Mr. Anderson but Velvet Sky and Brooke Tessmacher are going to challenge two Knockouts at Open Fight Night which it will interesting to see who Velvet and Brooke are going to challenge.

 

Star of the Night: Jeff Hardy, & Christopher Daniels

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate.

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

