Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 01-10-13

Billy's Impact Wrestling Banner_update3

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. It’s the final Impact Wrestling before the Genesis PPV this Sunday. After being told last week by Hulk Hogan that Bobby Roode and Austin Aries will team with each other against TNA World Heavyweight Champion; Jeff Hardy and a partner of Hardy’s choice. Will Roode and Aries be able to get along as they face Hardy and his partner, “The Cowboy” James Storm? Last week, Hulk Hogan shocked the Impact Zone when he suspended Bully Ray  indefinitely due to Bully Ray’s relationship with Brooke Hogan, will Bully Ray show up to the Impact Zone? Also last week, Sting return to Impact Wrestling and help Kurt Angle and Samoa Joe take out “Aces & Eights” which lead to a member of “Aces & Eights” loosing his mask. Will “Aces & Eights” get payback on Sting, angle and Joe? Tonight Kenny King takes on Xema ion to see who will face Christian York at Genesis to see who will get the X Division title shot against Rob Van Dam. Robbie E. is set to face Jesse and Tara in a mixed tag team match tonight. Will Robbie E. be able to find a Knockout to team up with him?  So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

 

Matches

Kenny King pins Xema Ion

Robbie T & Brooke Tessmacher defeat Jesse & Tara

Jay Bradley pins Brian Cage

Jeff Hardy & “The Cowboy” James Storm beat Bobby Roode & Austin Aries by disqualification

Kurt Angle vs. Mr. Anderson was a No Contest

Sting pins Knoxx of “Aces & Eights”

 

No Impact

Ok, I’m starting to sound like a broken record because once again we had to deal with another terrible Joseph Park segment. I begin to wonder how much TNA management is paying the crowd in the Impact Zone to cheer for Joseph Park. Hulk Hogan didn’t help make the segment any better as Hogan was just plain boring. So now we have Joseph Park vs. Devon at Genesis to look forward. I say this will be the match to go and use the bathroom during.

Wow, Joey Ryan can talk some shit but what a pussy. I mean Ryan cuts a good promo but then gets his ass kicked by Chavo by Matt Morgan held his own against Hernandez while Chavo was beating the shit out of Ryan. I hope that Ryan will finally step up Genesis what he’s and or TNA needs to Ryan back to OVW.

While we’re on the subject of Hulk Hogan, the Hulk Hogan\Brooke Hogan segment blew Donkey Kong. Brooke Hogan was so bad that she could almost beat “Claire Lynch” for worst actor ever in TNA which is bad on so many levels. Those tears that Brooke was suppose to be crying were faker than her breast. Just a waste of ten minutes than could have be given to matches.

Ok, the Jesse & Tara vs. Robbie T & Brooke Tessmacher was way too short. Robbie T is not that bad of a wrestler far as being a power wrestler and looked good during the match but he didn’t get a real chance to shine. Also the Knockouts didn’t get lot of time in the ring because this match being short. However we did get to see Brooke hit the Asstastic on Tara which is always great to me. (Hey, I’m a guy so sue me.) Have to say that Brooke has some moves as she and Robbie T danced to the dismay of Robbie. I’m looking for a feud between the two Robbies real soon.

Man, I was disappointed that TNA didn’t have Angle vs. Anderson as it would have been a good match. I’m not sure where TNA is going with this Anderson\”Aces & Eights” angle but I wished that we see Anderson do something. Now I heard a rumor that it’s going to be revealed that Anderson is working with Sting as a “Mole inside “Aces & Eights”. It will be interesting to see if this is the direction that TNA is going with this angle.

I wasn’t real impress with Sting vs. Knoxx match as it was just average. There really weren’t any high spots during the match expect Sting hitting the Scorpion Death Drop and the Scorpion Splash. I guess that TNA was using this match to hype the Sting vs. Doc match at Genesis but this was boring. I think it’s getting time for Sting to retire and hopefully he realizes it.

I have to say that Bully Ray is now officially is in the worst storyline in 2013. Bruce Prichard has to be on some really hard drugs if he thinks that this storyline is going bring in the viewers because Brooke Hogan can’t acted her way out of a wet paper bag. I mean how did “Aces & Eights” get their hands on Brooke Hogan and how did Bully Ray get into the Impact Zone if he’s suspended? I laughed my ass off and not in a good when Bully Ray asked Brooke Hogan to marry him. I can already see that next week’s Impact Wrestling is going to be a train wreck.

High Impact

The Kenny King vs. Xema Ion was a good match despite the match being short. Each man had some great offensive including ion hitting a summersault plancha on King and later a sick DDT. Ion was dominate for a good portion of the match but King was able to hit the Royal Flush to get the win after Ion missed the 450 Splash from the top rope. I pretty much called Kenny King and I think we’ll see a great match between King and Christian York at Genesis.

I like having two Gut Check contestants face each as it makes the match more interesting. I was impressed with both Bradley and Cage. I’ve heard of Bradley but I will say that I was impressed with Brian Cage. I like that nice suplex that Cage used to bring Bradley back into the ring because Cage did it while standing on the second ropes. I thought that Bradley was slightly better especially when Bradley hit the Boom StickLariat on Cage to get the win. I can’t wait to find out who will get the contract next week.

Bobby Roode and Austin Aries were on fire trying to one up each during their tag team match against Jeff Hardy and “The Cowboy” James Storm.  The arguing and trying to one up the other highlights that at Genesis, it’s everyone man for himself. I just loved Aries’s facial expressions as it really makes his matches and promos great. Hardy did a good job selling Aries and Roode working him over which really got the crowd in the Impact Zone on their feet when Hardy made the hot tag to Storm. I think it was smart for the match end in a disqualification because it make either Roode, Aries or Hardy look weak. I can’t for the Triple Threat Elimination match at Genesis this Sunday.

Show Rating: 4

 

Final Thoughts

This was not a good Impact Wrestling considering that we’ll going to into Genesis this Sunday. There was no real buildup for the matches at Genesis expect the main event with Roode, Aries and Hardy. Most of the matches were too short and the segments way too long especially the Hulk Hogan segments. Too much of the focus was on Hulk and Brooke Hogan and “Aces & Eights” which could have been used to have longer matches. The whole Bully Ray proposing to Brooke Hogan were the most unbelievable wrestling segment I have see and I have been watch wrestling for a long time. Plus TNA put after the card for Genesis on the fly which TNA usually doesn’t do. I’ll be interested to see how Impact Wrestling will go now that TNA has announced that they are only doing four live PPVs a year. On a side note, if you pay attention to the “Making An Impact” banner, you will notice that someone is missing. It was announced Wednesday that Sarita is no longer with TNA. I thinks it’s common knowledge that I’m a big Sarita fan and I was pissed when I heard this news. I was so pissed that I dropped a PIPEBOMB! about Sarita’s released called; “PIPEBOMB! TNA Dropped The Ball With Sarita.” So take the time to check it out. Also don’t forget Saturday to check out the TNA Genesis 2013 Preview Podcast with myself and John Mayer as we give our thoughts and predictions for Genesis.

 

Star of the Night: Austin Aries & Bobby Roode (Honorable Mention: Brooke Tessmacher)

 

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate.

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

