Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 12-13-12

Billy's Impact Wrestling Banner

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. It’s the fallout from Final Resolution as Jeff Hardy left still the TNA World Heavyweight Champion with “Aces & Eights” attacking Bobby Roode after the match. What will Roode have to say about “Aces & Eights” actions? After AJ Styles devastating lost to Christopher Daniels at Final Resolution, will be next for Styles? Also at Final Resolution, Austin Aries was able to defeat Bully Ray when Bully Ray was distracted by Brooke Hogan. Will Bully Ray get revenge on Aries tonight? Plus tonight it’s the return of Velvet Sky in in ring action. Will Velvet be able to impress Brooke Hogan tonight to get a title shot against TNA Knockouts Champion; Tara?  So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

 

Matches

Velvet Sky pins Madison Rayne

Garett Bischoff & Wes Briscoe beat Robbie E. & Robbie T

Jeff Hardy & “The Cowboy” James Storm defend “Aces & Eights”

Kenny King pins TNA Division Champion; Rob Van Dam in a non-title match

Bully Ray pins Jesse

 

No Impact

This Impact Wrestling had no real flow to it what so ever as half of the segments didn’t seem to gel with each other. The show looked like it was pasted together by a third rate editor. Why would you have Bully Ray vs. Jesse as your main event? If it had been me, I would have had either Jeff Hardy & “The Cowboy” James Storm vs. “Aces & Eights” or Kenny King vs. Rob Van Dam as the main event. I just feel like this show was put on autopilot and just didn’t care. For God shakes, you have Jesse in the main event when he can barely wrestle. I know that TNA taped this Impact Wrestling this past Monday as the next three Impact Wrestling shows were taped this week due the holidays but still I think that TNA could have put a little more work into putting together tonight’s show.

Ok TNA, is it really necessary to shove Wes Briscoe down our throats? I mean it’s like it was with Garett Bischoff as he was constantly shoved down our throats. Briscoe in my opinion is not as good as TNA makes him out to be. I think that Briscoe needs to go back to OVW to train some more while TNA brings Christian York permanently to the main roster. I also don’t think that TNA should be putting these two together as a tag team because either one of them is good enough to carry the other. Hey I know that TNA needs more tag teams but not these two as a tag team.

Speaking of tag team, why is TNA always having Robbie E and Robbie T jobbing to other tag teams? I think that the Robbies make a good tag team as Robbie T is better suited for tag team wrestling than singles. TNA needs good tag teams to keep the division alive which right now it’s on life support. So why not push the Robbies as a solid tag team? Hopefully TNA will wake up and start giving the Robbies a chance in the tag team division.

Another stupid Joseph Park segment TNA? Does TNA really think that the “Joseph Park” character is getting over with the fans? I wish that TNA would just bring back the character Abyss because Abyss is a much better character than Joseph Park.

 High Impact

Tonight was the return of Velvet Sky who got one hell of a pop from the crowd. I thought that Velvet looked good in the ring and had very little ring rust. The match itself was average, it was the fact that the fans into the match and were behind Velvet. Madison Rayne was not a bad opponent for Velvet for Velvet’s first match back as they have some decent chemistry together in the ring. The only bad thing that I would say is that outfit that Velvet was wearing didn’t looking very good on her. But hey, I’m no fashion critic, that’s what Joan Rivers and the Fashion Police are for.

I really liked AJ Styles promo. I’ve been saying for the past few weeks that I thought that Styles was going to turn “Heel” and tonight I think we got the first sign of that “Heel” turn. It’s looks like that TNA is going with the classic “Heel” turn by saying that he’s tired of being the cleanup guy for TNA and that from now on, Styles is only worrying about himself and no one else. I expect for Styles to feud first with “The Cowboy” James Storm first which will be a damn good feud.

Wow, Kenny King was damn impressive tonight in his match with RVD. I have to say that I was surprised how well King kept up with RVD even blocking several of RVD’s moves. I didn’t get their match at Final Resolution but their match tonight was the best match of the night. I think that King has a bright future in TNA and will be the X Division by June 2013. I think we’ll see a rematch between these two at Genesis next month.

I really liked the Hulk Hogan\Bully Ray segment as I thought that it had great buildup of emotion to it. This is one of the few times that I didn’t mind Hogan being involved in a segment. Also the way that the segment was shot was well done as the camera angles were different and fresh. Interaction between Hogan and Bully Ray so real that I thought that the two were actually going to try and beat the shit out of each other. With that said, if Austin Aries is no longer going to be part of the storyline then TNA wrap it up.

So Austin Aries was behind “Aces & Eights” attacking Bobby Roode and Jeff Hardy at Final Resolution so that Bobby Roode wouldn’t win the TNA title. I loved how Aries made it clear that he’s not in bed with “Aces & Eights” just that he simply paid “Aces & Eights” to do a job. I liked the fact that Aries is focus on winning back the TNA title which is good since there’s no guaranteed that Jeff Hardy is going to resign with TNA. I look for Hardy vs. Aries III to take place at Genesis.

 Show Rating: 5

 

 Final Thoughts

Again, this was an ok Impact Wrestling as the show had only few great moments that stood out. Most of the matches were good with Kenny King vs. Rob Van Dam being the best match of the night. The Austin Aries was the best promo of the night followed by the AJ Styles promo. I did like the Mickie James promo where talked about her loss at Final Resolution as she was disappointed with the outcome of the match. I expect Mickie to turn “Heel” and feud with Velvet Sky early part of next year. Next week we have three title matches as next Thursday is Championship Thursday. Kurt Angle will challenge Devon for the TNA TV title, Tara defends the TNA Knockouts title against Mickie James and scheduled is Austin Aries vs. Jeff Hardy for the TNA World Heavyweight title. Don’t forget to check out the annual TNA Glory Awards podcast where myself and John Mayer will name Superstar of Year, Match of the Year, Knockout of the Year and much more. So don’t forget to check it out

 

Star of the Night: Rob Van Dam & Kenny King

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly PIPE BOMB! And Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate.

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

