Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 09-27-12

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. Tonight it’s Championship Night and we will crown a new TNA TV Champion after TNA officially vacated the TV title. Samoa Joe, Mr. Anderson, Garrett Bischoff and Magnus fight for the chance to wrestle for the TNA TV title.Who will walk out as the new TNA TV Champion? Hulk Hogan says that he will confront “Aces & Eights” on their tuff. What will Hulk Hogan do when he confronts “Aces & Eights”? After Tara terrorized Christy Hemme last week during Open Fight Night, Brooke Hogan promised Tara that there will be consequences for her actions. What will Brooke Hogan have in store for Tara tonight? Tonight Austin Aries teams with Jeff Hardy to take on Bully Ray and Bobby Roode. Will Aries and Hardy be able to work together? So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

 

Matches

Christopher Daniels defends Kurt Angle & Chavo Guerrero in a triple threat match

Tara pins ODB to become the Number #1 Contender to the TNA Knockouts title

Samoa Joe defends Mr. Anderson by submission to become the new TNA TV Champion

Austin Aries & Jeff Hardy defeat Bully Ray & Bobby Roode

 

No Impact

Tara vs. ODB was the worst match of the night which is very sad because both women are talented in the ring. I don’t know the problem was but this match had no flow to it what so ever. It could have been Taryn Terrell as she is still new to refereeing as she seem to be slow on some calls but I think one of the big problems with this match was Eric Young. To me Eric Young being out at ringside just takes away from the match out there being an idiot. What it really comes down to is that Tara and ODB just didn’t have any chemistry in this match and it showed. For me the only positive thing to come out of this match is that we now know that Tara will challenge Brooke Tessmacher for the TNA Knockouts title at Bound for Glory.

While this match wasn’t bad, I’m still giving a “No impact to the Christopher Daniels vs. Kurt Angle vs. Chavo Guerrero match. Parts of the match were off as Angle and Guerrero didn’t seem to be on the same page and the moves came across as sloppy. This is a damn shame considering that all three men are damn good wrestlers. I also think having AJ Styles, Hernandez and Kazarian took away from the match too. I do think that the triple threat tag team match at Bound for Glory will be very good but tonight this match was slightly below average.

Would someone please let Dixie Carter know to keep Bruce Prichard off my TV or better yet get rid of Prichard all together. I was not impressed with Prichard’s attempt to intimidate Al Snow. I can tolerate Prichard as a judge for Gut Check but anything else is bad. If Dixie Carter was smart then she fire Prichard and replace him with Al Snow who I think really has a good solid understanding of what wrestling fans want today.

While I thought that the Hulk Hogan\”Aces & Eights” segments were good, I thought that the execution of some parts were a “hit or miss” as I think Hogan overacted in those segments. Especially with Hogan’s over dying concern over Joseph Park which just made me laugh my ass off because nobody really gives a damn about the character of Joseph Park. I’m surprised that TNA is only going to do a regular tag team match between “Aces & Eights” and the members of the TNA Roster instead of doing Lethal Lockdown. Anyway, don’t be surprise if it’s Hogan and Sting for TNA at Bound for Glory which I recommend using the time to go to the bathroom.

High Impact

Finally after several weeks of not addressing the issue of the TNA TV title, we get a new TV Champion with Samoa Joe winning the title via submission when Joe made Mr. Anderson pass out from the Coquina Clutch. I was glad that it was Joe and Anderson wrestling for the TV title. I would have had not problem had it been Joe vs. Magnus but had TNA put the title on Garrett Bischoff then ¾ of TNA fans would have been pissed off. Good solid five minute match which I liked how Anderson never gave up but just passed out. I wouldn’t mind seeing a rematch between Joe and Anderson but I expect to Magnus to feud with Joe over the TNA TV title.

One thing that TNA did like tonight is the fact that three new matches were made for Bound for Glory which is nice to see as now we now have five matches announced for Bound for Glory which is just a little over two weeks away. I was surprised to see that TNA is going to do a singles match for the TNA Knockouts title instead of a four way like they have done for the past two years. Don’t get me wrong because I’m sure that Tara vs. Brooke Tessmacher is going to be awesome but I just hate that the other Knockouts will most likely be left off the card. Last week I said that Storm vs. Roode would be signed for Bound for Glory and that it either would be a steel cage match or street fight match. I think that the “street fight” option is the better of the two as we have seen Storm and Roode go at it inside a steel cage before. I look for at least three more matches to be announced before the card is finalize.

The match; Austin Aries & Jeff Hardy vs. Bully Ray & Bobby Roode was great and I like how it ended. The match did a perfect job of showing the tension between Aries and Hardy. I just loved watching Aries refusing to tag in Hardy while putting on a wrestling clinic in the ring. The interaction between Aries and Hardy reminds me of CM Punk and John Cena trying to one up each other. I also liked how Roode egged Aires about how he wants Hardy to win so that he could challenge for the TNA title since he can’t while Aries is the TNA Champion. Rumor has it that TNA is strongly thinking about putting the TNA title on Hardy so maybe TNA is setting up seeds for a Hardy vs. Roode feud. I guess we’ll find out at Bound for Glory.

Show Rating: 5 ¾ out of 10

 

Final Thoughts

Well, this was a decent Impact Wrestling where we got build up for Bound for Glory which TNA should be doing. Now that half the card is set, I can’t wait to see the rest of the card. Thank you Mike Tenay for pointing out the ODB and Eric Young haven’t defended the TNA Knockout Tag Team titles since April of this year. I just wish that TNA just get rid of the titles because they have become nothing but a joke. I didn’t go into details about the results of Gut Check because it’s about the same thing we’ve heard before. I did like the nice reference Evan Markopoulos made about Al Snow’s time in Smokey Mountain Wrestling.  I actually saw Snow team with Unabomb AKA Kane win the SMW Tag Team titles from the Rock & Roll Express while Snow was in Smokey Mountain Wrestling. I still think that we see Al Snow vs. Joey Ryan properly at Bound for Glory. People are now saying that the brains behind “Aces & Eights” is Eric Bischoff but I still think that it’s Jeff Jarrett but I now have a second pick that I won’t reveal right now.

 

Star of the Night: AJ Styles & Kurt Angle

 

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly PIPE BOMB! And Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate.

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

