Sean Williams: Where’s The Professionalism?

*NOTE FROM JOHN* everyone please welcome Sean The Shark Williams as a contributor to the site. Make sure to check out his site http://sharkattackwrestling.wordpress.com and check out his live shows every Tuesday night at 8pm Pacific at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/the-shark-attack-live.

A story broke out about ROH Stars at an indy show stiffing the promotion and refusing to wrestle. According to a report at a show called Adrenaline Pro Wrestling that was taking place in Iowa, ROH stars Davey Richards, Kyle O’Reilly, and Tony Kozina were advertised for the show. The report goes on to say how they showed up well after the opening bell, bullied & threatened the promoter about their matches and demanding payment up front and that while their opponents waited in the ring, they up and left and reports have indicated that they’ve been bragging about it online and calling themselves Team Bandits as opposed to Team Ambition. Wrestler for the promotion Jaysin Strife went off on the group in the ring in front of the crowd on a microphone. Strife went as far as to say that those guys can go and die, and that he felt they disrespected himself, the company and what he does. He referred to them as snakes and thieves. Strife was irate for the fact that they demanded money that they didn’t earn because they didn’t do what they were paid to do in going out there and entertaining the crowd and felt disgusted to have been in the ring with those guys and that he wouldn’t rest until companies finally saw these guys as the snakes they are and how they were anything but professionals.

 

I always strive to maintain a professional and unbiased sense, even for those that I may not respect or like. When I first started doing this, one of the first guys I wanted to interview because I admired his talent, his skill and I felt he deserved to win the ROH world title was Davey Richards. I requested the interview and he said to me “Sure man. 100 bucks.” Whatever respect I had at that point, died out because of this. 100 bucks for what? Because you’d be voluntarily giving your time for an interview? To loosely quote Jeff Daniels on “The Newsroom”, I don’t have subpoena power. Everybody that I interview or that comes on this show does it voluntarily and none of them are demanding any payment up front or afterwards for it. It’s one thing to no show an event but demand payment upfront and bail is just a whole new low.

 

In the time that I’ve done this, I’ve been fortunate to interview who I have during the course. Kevin Steen and Prince Nana were two of my first interviews. The first phone interview I ever did was “Scrapiron” Adam Pearce. “The One Man Militia” Matt Justice and even more recently Adam Cole are among names I’ve had the privilege to interview. I respected those men and others I’ve interviewed for taking the time out of their schedule voluntarily to let me interview them. Kevin Steen was my first interview. Prince Nana after and even earlier this year when I suffered a loss in my family, Prince Nana was gracious enough to send his condolences to me. He didn’t have to do it nor was I expecting him to, but he did it anyway and to which, I’m grateful. Matt Justice when he replied back with the answers to my questions, apologized for the time it took to get them. He didn’t have to do it, but he still showed the class and professionalism for it. Adam Pearce was prompt in the time he called and is one of the biggest class acts I’ve had the privilege to talk with and is as good as they come. Adam Cole in the time that I talked with him, showed a certain amount of respect, class, professionalism, and was vocal about the love, passion and honor that he holds towards what he does as a professional wrestler.

 

So why this you may ask? Simple, where the hell is the professionalism with some people and especially in guys like Kyle O’Reilly, Davey Richards, and Tony Kozina? This is why I have a beef with some guys like Brock Lesnar who don’t have a love or passion to be in the business. If you don’t want to be there, than don’t be there and stop wasting your time, the guys in the back’s time and the time of the fans because you guys are getting to do what some of us fans could only dream of doing and you’re doing what other guys who are working their asses off to get a taste of even a glimpse of the limelight you guys have. Some of these guys never get to that point, but they keep doing it. Gregory Iron has a gimp hand due to cerebral palsy, but he still goes out there and wrestles. Zack Gowen still wrestles in the indies and the guy has only one freaking leg. You guys have no limitations physically unless in the case of what took place in Iowa, you count greed and ego as a physical limitation.

 

Now, I may not have the physical prowess to be a pro wrestler. But, if I was taller, more fit and offered a job as a professional wrestler, would I take it? In a New York Minute and the difference is that when I’m paid for doing my job, I earned the pay because I did what was asked and what was expected of me. I don’t go taking the money and run and then brag about it like I nailed the head cheerleader in high school. The difference in a guy like Brock Lesnar and in guys like Richards, Kozina and O’Reilly did is that we expect as much from Lesnar, but we expect more out of guys like those 3. There’s nothing professional about acting like a bunch of unprofessional parasites and then bragging & laughing about what you did like a jackass. Bottom line is not only did they steal the money from that promotion, money they didn’t earn that night, but they screwed the fans over that paid for those tickets to see great wrestling from 3 guys they thought would deliver, but instead all they got was three punks who stole their money and wasted their time.

 

Wanna know why Adam Cole got the pin over Davey Richards at the ROH Anniversary Show or why Eddie Edwards won the TV title over Davey Richards or won the World Title before him or why Kevin Steen holds that belt now? Maybe it’s because they’re just simply better or maybe it’s because they haven’t forgotten what the word “Professional” in professional wrestler means.

About John Mayer

31 year old wrestling fan and writer
This entry was posted in Sean Williams and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

