Making An Impact: TNA Impact Wrestling Review for 07-12-12

Making An Impact

With Billy James

Welcome to “Making An Impact” review for TNA Impact Wrestling. I’m Simply Sensational Billy James with the fallout from Impact Wrestling. After Destination X where Austin Aries did the impossible and defeated Bobby Roode to become the new TNA World Heavyweight Champion. What will the new TNA Champion Aries have to say tonight? Gail Kim faces Brooke Tessmacher in a rematch for the TNA Knockouts title. Will Gail end Brooke’s reign or will Brooke be able beat Gail again. Will AJ Styles address Christopher Daniels’s claims that AJ is the father of “Claire’s” baby? Also we have two Bound for Glory series matches as in the main event; it’s Kurt Angle vs. Mr. Anderson. So let’s get started by asking yourself this one question? “Are you ready to feel the Impact?”

Matches

Bully Ray Defeats Joseph Park in a Anything Goes Match

Rob Van Dam pins Samoa Joe in a Bound for Glory Series match

Zema Ion pins Dakota Darsow in a Non Title match

Brooke Tessmacher beats Gail Kim and retains the TNA Knockouts title

Kurt Angle pins Mr. Anderson in a Bound for Glory Series match

 

No Impact

I’m really getting tired of having to repeat myself over this Bully Ray\Joseph Park feud. I was praying that this match would end the feud but the aftermath of this match pretty much says that it’s not over. While the match itself was alright, I think that Bully Ray should doing more in the Bound for Glory series. What’s the point of having Bully Ray in the Bound for Glory series if TNA is going to have Bully Ray stuck in this stupid feud? Yes, TNA teased the split personality angle with Joseph Park but in my opinion it’s a little too late.

TNA had a little segment with Madison Rayne explaining her crush on Earl Hebner. I have to say that Madison’s explanation is complete BULLSHIT! Saying that Earl Hebner is fit is like saying Rikishi is fit. I have no problem with the older man\ younger woman angle but couldn’t TNA have picked someone else beside Earl Hebner.  If it was me, I have used someone like Al Snow or maybe Kurt Angle. Hopefully this angle will run its course very quickly.

After the return last week of Devon defending the TNA TV title, we had no TV title match this week. I think that TNA needs to make up their mind if they really want to push the TV title. I understand that TNA only has two hours to work with but still TNA needs to do a better job with the TV title. Also I think that Devon needs some better opponents like Mr. Anderson, AJ Styles or Kazarian for example.

I don’t know what to think about this “Claire” pregnant with AJ Styles’s baby storyline. It has got me interested as AJ admitted that he doesn’t know if he’s father of “Claire’s” baby. I just think that some of the promos were poorly done. The backstage segments where the “Unseen Interviewer” is going around like one those sleazily tabloid reporters who goes through celebrities trash to find out their dirty secrets sucks. Still it will be interesting to see where things will go from here.

 

High Impact

HOLY SHIT! Austin Aries is the TNA World Heavyweight Champion. Last week during the Destination X Preview Podcast, I had predicted that Bobby Roode would leave Destination X still the TNA World Heavyweight Champion. Well I have to say that TNA threw me one hell of a curve ball. I thought that Aries cut one hell of a promo and I loved how Aries dropped a reference to CM Punk who had congratulated Aries on winning the TNA title. Bobby Roode did a great job showing anger in loosing the TNA title to Aries. Also we found out that Roode will get a rematch for TNA title against Aries at Hard Justice. Next week as its Open Fight Night; we’ll get to see Roode vs. Aries in a non title match which should be awesome.

The Bound for Glory series is really picking up especially with two matches from tonight. I thought that having Joe going for submission holds on RVD was great as it shows that the wrestlers in the Bound for Glory series should be going for submission wins in order to get more points. The Angle vs. Anderson was great as they got very physical with Angle getting busted up in the mouth. Both matches ended in pin falls after near falls and submissions in the matches. Now with Aries as the TNA Champion, it changes the landscape for the Bound for Glory series. Now I’m starting to wonder if James Storm is going to win the Bound for Glory series. Now it could be Samoa Joe, Kurt Angle or Jeff Hardy. Either man would be a great opponent for Aires especially Angle which I think he and Aries could have a five star match. I guess we’ll have to wait and find out what’s going to happen next.

Xema Ion had his first match as the new TNA X Division Champion against Dakota Darsow which was a decent match. Again I didn’t think that Ion would walk out of Destination X with the X Division title as I thought it would have been Sonjay Dutt. It’s pretty clear that TNA is planning a major feud between Ion and Jesse Sorensen which I’m fine with. I do want to say that everyone needs to keep in mind that Xema Ion is playing a heel who is taking advantage of injuring his opponents and that Xema in real live does feel bad about Jesse Sorensen’s injury. I know this for a fact as I was able to meet Ion at a TNA house show back in March and from talking to him; you could tell that he does truly feels bad about Jesse Sorensen’s neck injury.

I really liked the rematch between Gail Kim and Brooke Tessmacher for the TNA Knockouts title. Brooke really showed why she deserves to be the Knockouts Champion as she was able to hang with Gail. Brooke really did a good job selling the arm be work on by Gail. I think with this successful title defense, it’s time for Brooke to move on to a new challenger like Velvet Sky, Mickie James or the Knockout who is the most deserving of getting a Knockouts title shot; Sarita.

Well, we saw more of the “Aces & Eights” as they attacked both Hulk Hogan and Sting tonight. From the rumors that I’ve been reading; that at Bound for Glory, Sting and Hogan will team up to take on the “Aces & Eights”. Also the rumor is that Sting would be doing most of the work in match for his team. I really don’t want to see Hogan in the ring as his days have past him by like warm a summer’s breeze. Still I’m curious to find out if Jeff Jarrett is part of the “Aces & Eights” as I think he is.

Show Rating: 7 1/2 out of 10

 

Final Thoughts

Alright, all and all not a bad Impact Wrestling for tonight. The Bound for Glory series matches were damn good and I think this year’s Bound for Glory series is better than last year’s. One thing that TNA shouldn’t had done during the Angle vs. Anderson match was going to commercial break, coming back for 10 seconds and going to another commercial break. I think I’m going to like Xema Ion as the X Division Champion as Ion cut a very good promo after his match against Darsow. Can’t wait for next week for the Bobby Roode vs. Austin Aries on Open Fight Night and to see if Joey Ryan shows up during Gut Check to confront Taz.

Star of the Night: Kurt Angle & Brooke Tessmacher

 

Bound for Glory Series Scoreboard

 Samoa Joe: 37 Points

“The Cowboy” James Storm: 36 Points

Kurt Angle: 27 Points

Jeff Hardy: 21 Points

Magnus: 14 Points

Rob Van Dam: 14 Points

Mr. Anderson: 9 Points

AJ Styles: 7 Points

D’Angelo Dinero: 7 Points

Christopher Daniels: 5 Points

Bully Ray: 0 Points

Robbie E.: 0 Points

Well, that’s it for this week’s Making An Impact. Don’t forget to check the weekly PIPE BOMB! And Wrestling Debate Podcast with myself and John Mayer. Also you can email me with questions or comments at  wrestlingdebate@hotmail.com. And check me out at http://www.facebook.com/wrestlingdebate

This entry was posted in Billy James, Making An Impact and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

