John’s Wrestlemania 28 Review

Wrestlemania 28 is in the books and it was one for the ages. There were high points and there were low points as there is with every Wrestlemania. Usually with my reviews I do a Top 5 but I am going to do a match by match review as I have a lot to say about last night. I watched the show at my friend Jay’s house and we all enjoyed the show. Now without further wait here is my thoughts on Wrestlemania 28.

 

MATCH 1: SHEAMUS DEF. DANIEL BRYAN TO WIN THE WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT TITLE(0:18)

 

This may be the easiest match for me to write about. I think Daniel Bryan’s entrance was longer then the actual match and that was a damn shame. These two guys get booted off the Wrestlemania card last year and this year all they get is 18 fucking seconds? All I have to say is CMON MAN! Daniel gets a big wet kiss from AJ then gets a big boot in his face for the 3 count. Granted I picked Sheamus to win I was expecting these two to have a better match.

 

MATCH RATING: NO STARS

 

MATCH 2: KANE DEF. RANDY ORTON(10:56)

 

This match was one that did not have as much hype as the main events but I felt it could be a descent match. While it was longer then the first match I feel they could have gone acouple of minutes longer. I picked Orton to win this match but was pleasantly surprised with Kane getting the W here with a 2nd rope chokeslam. I would like to see this feud to continue but with all the injuries they may have to move on to new feuds already.

 

MATCH RATING: ***

 

MATCH 3: THE BIG SHOW DEF. CODY RHODES TO WIN THE INTERCONTINENTAL TITLE (5:18)

 

Well The Big Show finally gets his 1 on 1 Wrestlemania moment. This match was sadly way to short due to them putting there focus on the big three matches. Cody losing here was the right call here because in my opinion he is ready for the main event scene. A funny part in the match is when Cody goes for the second Disaster Kick and Show spears him and it looked like he went a little low. Hope Cody got an ice pack for that. Show wins with the WMD and becomes the 12th Grand Slam Champion.

 

MATCH RATING: **1/4

 

MATCH 4: KELLY KELLY AND MARIA MENOUNOS DEF. BETH PHOENIX AND EVE(6:49)

 

Before I go into the match I must ask. WHAT THE FUCK WAS BETH PHOENIX WEARING ON HER HEAD? Now on to the match. It was announced earlier in the week that Maria broke two ribs while rehearsing for Dancing With The Stars and the heel divas took advantage of that. Later in the match you could tell that she was hurting yet she continued to wrestle and even got the pinfall on the current Divas Champion. I give her credit she could have backed out of the match but she fought through the pain for us fans.

 

MATCH RATING: ***(would have gone 2 stars but Maria’s performance gets a star on its own)

 

These first four matches were all in the 1st hour of the show. I was thinking either there were gonna be bonus matches or the last four matches were going to take up the rest. I was thankful that three of the last four matches went over 20 minutes long. Now on to the second half of the show.

 

MATCH 5: THE UNDERTAKER DEF. TRIPLE H IN HELL IN A CELL (30:52)

 

This match was billed as The End Of An Era and I truly think it was. This was a brutal match with the ring stairs,chairs,and the sledgehammer being brought into play. Triple H hit The Undertaker with so many chair shots his back was purple at one point in time. Triple H told special referee Shawn Michaels to end the match but The Undertaker wouldn’t. It took Taker locking HBK in the Hell’s Gate to get him to not stop the match. Another referee came out and Taker assaulted him as well. Once Shawn got back up he did super kick Taker but even that did not end the match. Triple H hit the Pedigree twice and that did not keep him down either. Eventually The Undertaker took advantage and won the match. But it was after the match that put a smile on my face. First Shawn and The Undertaker embrace and from there they both helped Triple H up and helped him to the back. But once on top of the ramp the three of them all embrace and head into the back. This was the match of the night hands down.

 

MATCH RATING: *****

 

MATCH 6: TEAM JOHNNY DEF. TEAM TEDDY TO GAIN CONTROL OF BOTH RAW AND SMACKDOWN (10:38)

 

In my opinion this match should have been done in the first half of the show and espically not after the Hell In A Cell match. They should have made this an elimination match that way you could have seen everyone get some time in the ring. A nice spot was Ryder, Kofi, and Truth all hitting flips onto there opponents on the floor. The ending was stupid with Eve,who should have never have been out there to begin with,comes into the ring as Zack Ryder was about to hit the Broski Boot on Miz. That enables Miz to hit the Skull Crushing Finale for the win. After the match Eve gives Zack a kick right square in between the legs. Hey Cody I think Zack needs your icepack.

 

MATCH RATING: **

 

MATCH 7: C.M. PUNK DEF. CHRIS JERICHO TO RETAIN THE WWE TITLE (22:21)

 

This was not only a match for the WWE Title but for the title of Best In The World. Before the match New GM John Laurinatis informed Punk if he loses by DQ he will lose the WWE Title. This match was personal as Jericho had been talking about Punk’s entire family. If it wasn’t for Hell In A Cell this would have been the match of the night. These two guys are truly two of the best and last night they showed it. Between Jericho locking in the Liontamer and Punk winning with the Anaconda Vice and everything else in between this was a great match. Another big spot was Jericho suplexing Punk to the outside of the ring. I want this match again and I hope we get to see it.

 

MATCH RATING: **** ½

 

MAIN EVENT: THE ROCK DEFEATS JOHN CENA(30:34)

 

This was a match that was booked a year ahead of time and I hate to say this but it did not live up to the hype. I would have liked to have seen Rock hit Cena with the AA or Cena hit a Rock Bottom on The Rock. But instead we get The Rock locking on the worst Sharpshooter I have ever seen,twice. Cena came out wearing a bright green shirt making him look like Baby Bop from the Barney show. Cena got stupid and went for a People’s Elbow but Rock gets up and hits a Rock Bottom for the win. I would like to see this match again but only if Rock shakes the ring rust off of him because last night it showed. I hope they do not announce Rock/Cena for next year.

 

MATCH RATING: *** ¾

 

OVERALL RATING: 8 OUT OF 10

 

MATCH OF THE NIGHT: UNDERTAKER VS TRIPLE H

 

SUPERSTAR OF THE NIGHT: C.M. PUNK

 

DIVA OF THE NIGHT: MARIA MENOUNOS

 

DUD OF THE NIGHT: SHEAMUS VS DANIEL BRYAN

 

Overall it was an excellent show. There were things that could have been done better. But I was happy in the end. I hope that on RAW tonight they do not announce a match for next year’s mania as I felt there was too much hype and the match did not fully deliver. RAW should be good tonight and I am looking forward to it. If you wanna ask me a wrestling question feel free to email me @ Johnpmayer87@aim.com or on Twitter @Mayernation. Until next time I will see you all around the ring.

About John Mayer

31 year old wrestling fan and writer
This entry was posted in John Mayer, Wrestlemania, WWE and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

